Although it is the Headteachers responsibility to ensure the effective day to day management of the school, the governing body support the work of the headteacher and contribute towards the strategic decisions made. The governing body works closely with the headteacher, staff, the local authority and the Arch Diocese.

Key roles include acting as a critical friend, to challenge, to ask questions and to represent the school community. The Full Governing Body meets once per term. In addition to this the following Sub Committee’s meet prior to every Full Governing Body Meeting: Curriculum, Data, Finance & Buildings, Safeguarding. The Pay Review and Admissions Sub Committees meet annually.

Members of the governing body include parents, teaching staff, local community and local authority representatives.

If you need to contact our Chair of Governors please email and mark your correspondence FAO Mrs B Coxon.


Governor Information

Updated: 20/12/2023 182 KB
Updated: 20/12/2023 125 KB
Updated: 20/12/2023 66 KB

Our Governors

Name Type Position Term of Office End Date Business Interest as at 14th Sept 2023 Year Group Link Subject Area Link
Bernie Coxon Foundation Chair of Governors 31st Dec 2024 Nil Year 4 Safeguarding
Stephen O’Brien Foundation Vice Chair 30th Apr 2025 Nil Year 3 Maths
Jane Byrne Foundation Governor 15th Nov 2025 Nil Year 1 Inclusion & SEND
Mark Madden (Father) Foundation Governor 27th Nov 2024 Nil
Norma Neary Foundation Governor 22nd Oct 2025 Nil Reception History
Gavin Williams Foundation Governor 15th Dec 2026 Nil Year 6 Pupil Premium
‘The Arts’
Equal Opportunities
Tony Hughes Local Authority Governor 22nd Oct 2026 Nil Year 5 P.E
Keith Middleman Parent Governor 12th Nov 2024 Nil Year 2 Science
Andrea Pankiw Parent Governor 12th Nov 2024 Nil Nursery MFL
Clare Jasper Staff Governor
(Deputy Headteacher)
31st Oct 2026 Nil
Lewis Dinsdale Staff Headteacher ongoing Nil

Sub Committees

On occasion other members of staff will be invited to sub committee meetings to provide detailed information on Agenda items. These members of staff do not hold any right to vote.


Admissions Curriculum
Bernie Coxon (Chair) Bernie Coxon (Chair)
Lewis Dinsdale (HT) Lewis Dinsdale (HT)
Norma Neary Stephen O’Brien (Vice)
Tony Hughes Jane Byrne 
Andrea Pankiw  Norma Neary
  Tony Hughes
Data Finance & Buildings
Bernie Coxon (Chair) Bernie Coxon (Chair)
Lewis Dinsdale (HT) Lewis Dinsdale (HT)
Stephen O’Brien (Vice) Tony Hughes
Keith Middleman Norma Neary
Clare Jasper (Deputy) Gavin Williams
  Stephen O’Brien (Vice)
Pay Review Safeguarding
Bernie Coxon (Chair) Bernie Coxon (Chair)
Lewis Dinsdale (HT) Lewis Dinsdale (HT)
Keith Middleman Norma Neary
Gavin Williams Gavin Williams
  Stephen O’Brien (Vice)
  Clare Jasper (Deputy)